Vaughan Aggregate Trophy 2023

This year's Tables have been compiled with the assistance of Paul H, my old reliable program is no longer compatible with modern PCs and the last couple of years have been a struggle to compile in a long-hand fashion, my thanks to Paul for his welcome input to the calculations.

With so many changes in the early events, no more Fosse Way or Harbury events, we have had to acclimatise ourselves to three 10-courses and a circuit of Bubbenhall-Princethorpe. So this report covers the Hilly, 25 and 10 TTs Champs.

For new members, here's how it happens – after the results are published for every Club Championship TT, we check back through the last three seasons <u>and</u> the current one, then we compare your results with the PBs from that period, except where we have the brand new Hilly Circuit, only this season's times are available. The rider who has the best comparison is awarded 20 points, 2nd gets 19 and so on down to 20th place; the other finishers and those without qualifying PB rides receive 1 point. The winner at the end of the season receives a beautiful large trophy which dates back to the 1920s when trophies were really made of silver.

Hilly Championship (Dave Cooke Trophy) 17th May 2023.

	Result	РВ	Diff +/-	Points
Paul Edwards	0-58-28	No PB		1
Paul Harper	1-06-27	1-09-01	+02-34	18
Mark Newbold	1-12-46	No PB		1
Jeremy Eastaugh	1-15-15	1-18-10	+02-55	19
Tim Hall	1-41-10	No PB		1
Roger Gardner	1-44-13	1-51-56	+07-43	20

With only three guys sampling the earlier Hilly and then recording times in the Championship TT, Roger scores a rare, well deserved 20 points. Half the riders were scoring first rides on this new course, these will help for future years, meanwhile you do earn a point for turning up!

25 mile championship — 14th June 2023

<u> </u>	•			
	Result	РВ	Diff +/-	Points
Paul Edwards	0-59-09	0-59-50	+00-41	18
Paul Harper	1-08-08	1-04-56	-03-12	17
Darren Giles-Webb	1-08-50	1-05-16	-03-34	16
Matthew Wallington	1-11-52	1-13-26	+01-34	20
Nadine Mayhew	1-18-57	No PB		1
Roger Gardner	1-43-07	1-44-19	+01-12	19

Paul Edwards and Matt Wallington are both making come backs this year, Matt has won the Vaughan several seasons back, and both scored improvements, as did Mr President Roger. Nadine gave us all a surprise on the evening by making tonight her come-back ride, only one point available under the Vaughan rules.

10mile TT championship (Dick Shayler Cup) 21st June 2023

	Result	РВ	Diff +/-	Points
Paul Edwards	22-07	22-16	+00-09	20
Tony Foster	23-55	24-03	+00-08	19
Paul Harper	25-04	24-30	-00-34	18
Nadine Mayhew	27-06	No PB		1
Matthew Wallington	27-05	No PB		1
Tony Smith	28-32	26-56	-01-36	15
Bob Lane	31-33	30-01	-01-32	16
Tim Hall	34-46	33-15	-01-31	17
Roger Gardner	37-15	33-42	-03-33	14

Paul Edwards is the winner on the night, but it gives me great pleasure to record a PB for young Mr Foz, under 24 minutes. It was a pleasure to see Nadine back on the bike after a few years away. when trophies were really made of silver.

The Excel table.

Nearing the end of the season, it's very close at the top. Roger is tying on points with Mr "Vaughan Trophy" Paul Harper. Now we can see why Roger has been plugging away at the distance events all year. Just two counting rides from now and the trophy will be decided.

		18-May	14-Jun 25	21-Jul 10	30-Aug 5	17-Sep HC	Total
		Hilly					
1=	Roger Gardner	20	19	14			53
1=	Paul Harper	18	17	18			53
3	Paul Edwards	1	18	19			39
4	Matthew Wallington		20	1			21
5=	Tony Foster			20			19
5=	Jeremy Eastaugh	19					19
7	Tim Hall	1		17			18
8=	Tony Smith			16			16
8=	Darren Giles-Webb		16				16
10	Bob Lane			15			15
11	Nadine Mayhew		1	1			2
12	Mark Newbold	1					1